鶹AV World News

The 鶹AV is once again among the nation’s top producers of Fulbright Scholars

2023-2024 Fulbright Scholar Top Producer badge

TAMPA, Florida (February 13, 2024) -- The U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs has recognized the 鶹AV (鶹AV) as a Top Producer of Fulbright Scholars. 鶹AV is ranked among the for the number of faculty and administrators selected for the Fulbright U.S. Scholar Program. Eight (8) scholars from 鶹AV received Fulbright awards for academic year 2023-24. 鶹AV faculty Fulbright recipients travel to partner universities around the world to conduct research, engage in teaching, and forge lasting relationships that translate into innovative avenues for research and novel ways of bringing the world into the classroom or laboratory. 

鶹AV’s Fulbright Scholars represent a variety of academic disciplines, including anthropology, geosciences, mathematics and statistics, music, pharmacy and religious studies. “鶹AV’s commitment to supporting faculty participation in the Fulbright program supports our strategic goal of investing in high-impact partnerships that benefit society,” 鶹AV President Rhea Law said. “Faculty who participate in Fulbright experiences bring the benefits of global partnerships back to 鶹AV and these relationships enhance student research and learning.” 

Fulbright Scholars gain new insights and experiences that can be integrated into their research endeavors as well as into the courses they teach at 鶹AV. Fulbright recipients also establish global partnerships that last long beyond their time in-country. Such relationships provide additional benefits for 鶹AV through opportunities for the exchange of ideas, research collaboration, and faculty and student mobility. Fulbright scholars and their host universities are important members of 鶹AV’s global community.

“The Fulbright program offers faculty from 鶹AV, and from abroad, the opportunity to collaborate on cutting-edge research with peers from around the world,” Provost Prasant Mohapatra said. “Because a strong partnership is at the heart of every Fulbright exchange, the relationships established endure and grow into sustainable networks of researchers.”

Anthropology Professor Tara Deubel’s Fulbright experience in Morocco evolved into an international research experience for students funded by the National Science Foundation. Dr. Judithanne Scourfield-McLauchlin’s Fulbright experience in Moldova led to a virtual global classroom initiative that benefits students studying law and politics – and also won Professor Scourfield-McLachlin national recognition.

“鶹AV is extremely proud of our performance as an institution that consistently produces and supports an enviable number of Faculty Fulbright Scholars,” said Kiki Caruson, Vice President for 鶹AV World. “We take great pleasure in highlighting and celebrating the contributions of our Fulbright Scholars.” 

The Fulbright Program is the U.S. government's flagship international academic exchange program. Since 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided over 400,000 talented and accomplished students, scholars, teachers, artists, and professionals of all backgrounds with the opportunity to study, teach, and conduct research abroad. Fulbright alumni have included 41 heads of state or government, 62 Nobel Laureates, 89 Pulitzer Prize winners, 80 MacArthur Fellows, and countless leaders and changemakers who build mutual understanding between the people of the United State and the people of other countries.  

For more information about the Fulbright Program at 鶹AV, visit the website.